Skip to main content
Close

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with Research? Have a general question about the library's resources or services? We're here to help!

There are a number of ways in which you can reach us:

Chat with a Librarian 24/7. Need help now? Click here to chat with a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Email us at refhelp@highline.edu.  When sending email, please allow 24 hours for a librarian to respond.

Call a Reference librarian at (206) 592-3232 (on-campus extension 3232) during library hours.

Visit the Reference Desk, located on the Library Plaza Level (2nd Floor) during library hours.

EBSCO Ebooks Help: Home

What are eBooks?

eBooks are electronic books. Many books in the Ebsco Academic Collection have already been published in paper. These books will have the same cover, table of contents, text, and illustrations as the paper or print version. You can view these books on your computer, or on most devices that will display PDF files.

The Ebsco eBook Academic Collection offers over 100,000 books from a variety of publishers. These books are non-fiction and cover most academic subjects, including art, history, business, psychology, communication studies, and much more.

How Do I Access Ebsco eBook Collection?

1. Go to the Highline Library webpage – http://library.highline.edu/
2. Under Find Information, click on Search Databases link.
3. On the Search databases page, click on the Books tab.
 


4. On the Books page, click on Ebsco Ebook Academic link.
5. If you are off campus, you will now be asked for your Highline username and password. 

How Do I Search for an eBook?

The large number of books in this collection (100,000) means that most searches will retrieve many books.

Search Tip: You may want to limit your search at first to a title search (which looks for your term in the book’s title) or a subject search (which looks at the 4 or 5 subjects the publisher, author and book cataloger have decided the book is about.) You will see three boxes to type in your search.

If you want more results, then leave “Select a field” showing next to your search term. The system will look for your search terms everywhere in the book.

How Do I Read the eBook?

This is one record from a search:

You have two options for reading the eBook:

1. Click on the title (“Teach, Care, Act” in the example above) or on the eBook Full Text icon to go directly to the book

OR

2. Download (Offline) will let you download the book to an ereader. To see the table of contents first, click on the Table of Contents link.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian!

We're here to help with library and research questions! 

Email us at refhelp@highline.edu. Please allow 24 hours for a librarian to respond.

 

Chat live with a librarian online. Click here to connect to a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Call a Reference librarian at (206) 878-3710 extension 3232 during library hours.

Visit the Reference Desk, located on the Library Plaza Level (2nd Floor) during library hours.

How Do I Save From an ebook?

Most eBooks will allow you to save up to 60 pages at one time. This works best if you email the saved file to yourself.

While looking at the full text of the book, click on the Email icon, the fifth icon from the top of the right-hand side tool bar.

Select “Current page” or “Current page and the next _ pages” if you want multiple pages. (“Current page and the next 59 pages” will get you 60 pages.)

Type in your email address in the right-hand side of the box. Click the “Email PDF” button.