Skip to main content
Close

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with Research? Have a general question about the library's resources or services? We're here to help!

There are a number of ways in which you can reach us:

Chat with a Librarian 24/7. Need help now? Click here to chat with a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Email us at refhelp@highline.edu.  When sending email, please allow 24 hours for a librarian to respond.

Call a Reference librarian at (206) 592-3232 (on-campus extension 3232) during library hours.

Visit the Reference Desk, located on the Library Plaza Level (2nd Floor) during library hours.

Recommended Reading: January

Highline College's librarians recommend materials from the library collection on a wide variety of topics.

About This Guide

Searching for image...

January is the month to celebrate the life of Martin Luther King Jr. and the American civil rights movement. Highline Community College Library presents a recommended reading/viewing list for this celebration, including books, videos, and e-films.

 Come to see what Highline Community College Library has to offer by browsing our recommended reading list.

You can also find these materials on our Recommended Reading display rack on the Plaza Level of the library. Please borrow and enjoy them!

Full list of Recommended Reading Titles

Finding Materials in the Library

If you click on one of the titles in the list of materials, you will be taken to our online catalog. These tutorials will help you use the catalog and the materials you find there:

Tutorial: Library Catalog

Tutorial: Books and Ebooks

January: Martin Luther King Jr./American Civil Rights Movement

Websites

Remembering Coretta and Martin Luther King, Jr. Provides "links to resources about Coretta Scott King and Martin Luther King, Jr." including biographical information, chronologies, educational sites, popular documents (such as the "I Have a Dream" speech), and media pages. From the Poynter Institute, a  "non-profit school for journalists."

Martin Luther King, Jr. Week Multicultural Events Office in the Highline Community College has a week long series of educational events, programs, and activities  geared toward examining and celebrating the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.   Leadership opportunities for Highline students include planning committee membership and volunteering throughout the week.  Please contact Natasha Burrowes at (206) 592-3256 or nburrowes@highline.edu

Martin Luther King, Jr. Newspaper Articles Archive A searchable archive of thousands of newspapers articles about this "African-American minister whose strong hope for social change never swerved his belief in nonviolence." Also includes a timeline, a brief biography, and links to related sites. Some of the newspaper articles are fee-based.

The Seattle Times Archive on Martin Luther King, Jr. Information on Martin Luther King Jr., including a biography, text of speeches and writings, some audio features, photographs, and a timeline of Dr. King's life and the civil rights movement. Also provides study guides, a quiz, and resource links, as well as reflections from others and an article about the holiday.

Citizen King Companion website to a PBS film on the life of Dr. King. It "explores the last five years in King's life by drawing on the personal recollections and eyewitness accounts of friends, movement associates, journalists, law enforcement officers, and historians, to illuminate this little-known chapter in the story of America's most important and influential moral leader." Includes interview, an opinion poll, links to timelines, maps, and a teacher's guide.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial - National Park Service. August 28, 2011, the 48th anniversary of the groundbreaking March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom witnessed the dedication of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial.

Martin Luther King, Jr. | America's Library - Library of Congress

Library of Congress presents stories about Martin Lither King Jr. The stories show Martin Luther King Jr. was the most important voice of the American civil rights movement, which worked for equal rights for all.

United Farm Workers in Washington State. The site contains an overview of the United Farm Workers (UFW) in Washington state, a gallery of photographs from the 1960s through the 1990s, and transcripts of interviews with people active in the movement. From the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies, University of Washington.

Campus Activism This interactive website presents many tools for progressive activists, including many interesting essays, calendars of events, campaigns to join (so you don’t have to invent your own), email lists, and a discussion forum.