Skip to main content
Close

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with Research? Have a general question about the library's resources or services? We're here to help!

There are a number of ways in which you can reach us:

Chat with a Librarian 24/7. Need help now? Click here to chat with a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Email us at refhelp@highline.edu.  When sending email, please allow 24 hours for a librarian to respond.

Call a Reference librarian at (206) 592-3232 (on-campus extension 3232) during library hours.

Visit the Reference Desk, located on the Library Plaza Level (2nd Floor) during library hours.

Learning and Teaching Center (LTC) Library Collection: A to Z List (by title) of LTC Collection

a list A-Z and by subject of print materials in the Learning and Teaching Center (LTC) Library Collection

A-Z List of LTC Library Titles

Learning and Teaching Print Collection 
A-Z List of Titles

147 practical tips for teaching professors /
Magnan, Robert.
Madison, Wis. :Atwood Pub.,c1990.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125O58 1990
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips

 

Active learning : 101 strategies to teach any subject /
Mel Silberman.
Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c1996.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 370.1523 S582a 1996
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips

 

The adjunct professor's guide to success :surviving and thriving in the college classroom /
Lyons, Richard E.,
Boston :Allyn & Bacon,c1999.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.12L991a 1999
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips   /    Professional Development
 

Adult learner: the definitive classic in adult education and human resource development (Revised) (8TH ed.) /
Knowles, Malcolm
New York, NY : Routledge, 2015.
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 374 K73a 2015
Subject: Learning Theory and Practice
 

Assessing learning :standards, principles, and procedure /
Fiddler, Morry.
Dubuque, Iowa :Kendall/Hunt Pub.,c2006.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:  378.167F449a 2006
Subject:  Assessment

 

Assessing student learning: a common sense guide
Suskie, Linda
Jossey-Bass; 2 edition 2009
 Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.167 S964a 2009
Subject: Assessment

 

Assessing the online learner :resources and strategies for faculty /
Palloff, Rena M.,
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c2009.
Learning and Teaching Center     378.17344678P168a 2009
Subject:  Assessment

 

Assessment essentials: planning, implementing, and improving assessment in higher education
Banta, Trudy
Jossey-Bass 2014
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.167 B219a 2015
Subject:  Assessment
 


Assessment in cycles of improvement :faculty designs for essential learning outcomes /
Miller, Ross.
Washington, D.C. :Association of American Colleges and Universities,c2007.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.167M649a 2007
Subject:  Assessment

 

The assessment primer :creating a flow of learning evidence /
Stiehl, Ruth E.
Corvallis, Or :Learning Organization,c2008.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.199S855a 2008
Subject:  Assessment
 

Assessment that works : a national call, a twenty-first-century response
Peggy. Maki.
Washington, DC : Association of American Colleges and Universities ,2015
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.167 M235a 2015
Subject:  Assessment

 

Becoming a critically reflective teacher /
Brookfield, Stephen.
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c1995.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125B872b 1995
Subject:  Reflective Teaching

 

Blended learning in higher education :framework, principles, and guidelines /
Garrison, D. R.(D. Randy),
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c2008.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 371.334G242b 2008
Subject:  Teaching and Technology   /   Assessment
 

A brief history of student learning assessment :how we got where we are and a proposal for where to go next /
Shavelson, Richard J.
Washington, D.C. :Association of American Colleges and Universities,c2007.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 379.158S533b 2007
Subject:  Assessment

 

Building online learning communities :effective strategies for the virtual classroom /
Palloff, Rena M.,
San Francisco, CA :Jossey-Bass,c2007.    
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.175P168b 2007
Subject:  Teaching and Technology  

 

Checking for understanding: formative assessment techniques for your classroom, 2nd ed.
Fisher, Douglas
Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development; 2nd edition 2014
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.167 F533c 2014
Subject: Assessment

 

Classroom assessment techniques :a handbook for college teachers /
Angelo, Thomas A.,
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass Publishers,c1993.
Learning and Teaching Center      Call Number: 378.125A584c 1993
Subject:  Assessment

 

Classroom assessment techniques :a handbook for faculty /
Cross, K. Patricia(Kathryn Patricia),
[Ann Arbor, MI] :National Center for Research to Improve Postsecondary Teaching and Learning,c1993.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:  378.125 A584c 1993
Subject:  Assessment

 

Collaborative learning techniques :a handbook for college faculty /
Barkley, Elizabeth F.
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c2005.
Learning and Teaching Center      Call Number: 378.12B256c 2005
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips   / Learning Theory and Practice

 

Creating significant learning experiences :an integrated approach to designing college courses /
Fink, L. Dee,
San Francisco, Calif. :Jossey-Bass,c2013.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:378.12F499c 2013
Subject:   Curriculum   /   Learning Theory and Practice

 

Designing courses for higher education /
Toohey, Susan,
Philadelphia, PA : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press, 1999.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.199T668d 1999
Subject:   Curriculum    /    Learning Theory and Practice

 

Developing learner-centered teaching :a practical guide for faculty /
Blumberg, Phyllis,
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c2009.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:         378.125B658d 2009
Subject:  Learner-Centered Teaching
 

Dilemmas in teaching :cases for collaborative faculty reflection /
Anson, Chris M.
Madison, Wis. :Mendota Press,c1998.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.12D576 1998
Subject:  Reflective Teaching

 

Effective grading :a tool for learning and assessment in college /
Walvoord, Barbara E. Fassler,
San Francisco, CA :Jossey-Bass,c2010.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.167W241e 2010
Subject:  Assessment

 

Engaging ideas :the professor's guide to integrating writing, critical thinking, and active learning in the classroom /
Bean, John C.
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c2011.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 808.042B367e 2011
Subject:  Critical Thinking   /   Teaching Practices/Tips   /   Learning Theory and Practice

 

Essential teaching principles: a resource guide for adjunct faculty /
Weimer, Maryellen.
Madison, WI: Magna Publications
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.12 E78 2016
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  

 

The excellent online instructor :strategies for professional development /
Palloff, Rena M.,
San Francisco, CA :Jossey-Bass,[2011], ©2011.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 371.334P168e 2011
Subject:  Teaching and Technology  /  Professional Development

 

Formative classroom assessment :theory into practice /
New York :Teachers College, Columbia University,c2007.
Learning and Teaching Center      Call Number: 371.26F724 2007
Subject:  Assessment

 

General education assessment for improvement of student academic achievement :guidance for academic departments and committees /
Nichols, James O.(James Oliver),
New York :Agathon Press,c2001.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.1N619g 2001
Subject:  Assessment
 

Getting things done : the art of stress-free productivity /
Allen, David
New York : Penguin, Revised edition 2015.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 650.11 A425g 2015
Subject:  General  /  Professional Development

 

Hacking education: 10 quick fixes for every school
Barnes, Mark
Times 10 Publications 2015
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 371.2 B261h 2015
Subject: General

 

Handbook for adjunct/part-time faculty and teachers of adults /
Greive, Donald.
Cleveland, Ohio :Info-Tec,2011.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:378.125G824h 2011
Subject:  Professional Development
 

Helping students learn in a learner-centered environment :a guide to facilitating learning in higher education /
Doyle, Terry,
Sterling, Va. :Stylus Pub.,2008.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125D754h 2008
Subject:  Learner-Centered Teaching

 

How learning works: seven research-based principles for smart teaching
Ambrose, Susan
Jossey-Bass; 1 edition 2010
 Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 371.102 H847 2010
Subject:  Learning Theory and Practice

 

How to grade for learning :linking grades to standards /
O'Connor, Ken.
Arlington Heights, IL :SkyLight Professional Development,c2002.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 371.272O18h 2002
Subject:  Assessment

 

How to Teach Adults : Plan Your Class, Teach Your Students, Change the World /
Spalding, Dan.
San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, [2014]
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 374.973 S734h 2014
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips    /   Learning Theory and Practice   /   Curriculum

 

Improving the environment for learning :academic leaders talk about what works /
Donald, Janet Gail,
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass Publishers,c1997.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number:  378.107D675i 1997
Subject:  Learning Theory and Practice 
 

Inspired college teaching :a career-long resource for professional growth /
Weimer, Maryellen,
San Francisco, CA :Jossey-Bass,c2010.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125 W422in 2010
Subject:  Professional Development

 

Introduction to action research : social research for social change /
Greenwood, Davydd J.
Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c1998.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 300.72 G816i 1998
Subject:  General

 

Introduction to rubrics :an assessment tool to save grading time, convey effective feedback, and promote student learning /
Stevens, Dannelle D.
Sterling, Va. :Stylus Pub.,2005.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 371.272S844i 2005
Subject:  Assessment

 

Investing in quality :tools for improving curricular efficiency /
Ferren, Ann S.
Washington, DC :Association of American Colleges and Universities,c2000.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 375.001F383i 2000
Subject:  Curriculum

 

The joy of teaching :a practical guide for new college instructors /
Filene, Peter G.
Chapel Hill :University of North Carolina Press,c2005.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:378.12F481j 2005
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  /  Professional Development

 

Latino change agents in higher education :shaping a system that works for all /
San Francisco, CA :Jossey-Bass,c2008.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.19829L357 2008
Subject:  Learning Theory and Practice  

 

Learner-centered assessment on college campuses :shifting the focus from teaching to learning
Huba, Mary E.
Boston :Allyn and Bacon,c2000.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125H875L 2000
Subject:  Learner-Centered Teaching  /  Assessment

 

Learner-centered teaching :five key changes to practice /
Weimer, Maryellen,
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, [2013]
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125W422L 2013
Subject:  Learner-Centered Teaching

 

Learner-centered teaching :putting the research on learning into practice /
Doyle, Terry,
Sterling, Va. :Stylus Pub.,2011.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125D754L 2011
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips    /    Learning Theory and Practice

 

Learning to teach in higher education /
Ramsden, Paul.
London ;New York :RoutledgeFalmer,[2000].
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125R182L 1992
Subject:   Professional Development  
 

Lessons from the virtual classroom : the realities of online teaching /
Rena M. Palloff
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, [2013]
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number:  371.3344678 P168l 2013
Subject:  Teaching and Technology

 

Make it stick: the science of successful learning
Brown, Peter
Cambridge, Massachusetts : The Belknap Press, 2014.
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 370.1523 B879m 2014
Subject:  Learning Theory and Practice

 

Making the move to eLearning :putting your course online /
Lehmann, Kay Johnson,
Lanham, Md. :Rowman & Littlefield Education,©2009.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 371.3344678L523m 2009
Subject:  Teaching and Technology
 

The mapping primer :tools for reconstructing the college curriculum /
Stiehl, Ruth E.
Corvallis, Or :Learning Organization,c2005.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.199S855m 2005
Subject:  Curriculum

 

Mastering the techniques of teaching /
Lowman, Joseph,
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass Publishers,c1995.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125L918m 1995
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips    /     Professional Development

 

Mathematical mindsets: unleashing students' potential through creative math, inspiring messages and innovative teaching
Boaler, Jo
San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass & Pfeiffer Imprints, [2016]
Learning and Teaching Center  Call Number: 510.71 B662m 2016
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips

 

McKeachie's teaching tips : strategies, research, and theory for college and university teachers /
Svinicki, Marilla D.,
Belmont, CA :Wadsworth, Cengage Learning,c2014.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.199S969m 2014
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips    /    Learning Theory and Practice

 

Minds on fire: how role-immersion games transform college
Carnes, Mark
Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard University Press, [2014]
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.17 C289m 2014
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips

 

Minds online :teaching effectively with technology /
Miller, Michelle D.,
3rd floor, West
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 371.334M647m 2014
Subject:  Teaching and Technology


A miniature guide for students and faculty to the foundations of analytic thinking 
Elder, Linda,
Dillon Beach, CA :Foundation for Critical Thinking,c2003.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 153.42E37m 2003
Subject:  Critical Thinking

 

A miniature guide for students on how to study & learn a discipline using critical concepts & tools /
Paul, Richard.
Dillon Beach, CA :Foundation for Critical Thinking,2001.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 370.1523P324m 2001
Subject:  Critical Thinking
 

A miniature guide for those who teach on how to improve student learning :30 practical ideas /
Paul, Richard.
Dillon Beach, CA :Foundation for Critical Thinking,2002.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 370.1523P324m 2002
Subject:  Critical Thinking   /   Teaching Practices/Tips   /   Learning Theory and Practice
 

A miniature guide for those who teach on practical ways to promote active & cooperative learning /
Hiler, Wesley.
Dillon Beach, CA :Foundation for Critical Thinking,2002.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 370.1523H644m 2002
Subject:  Critical Thinking   /   Teaching Practices/Tips   /   Learning Theory and Practice

 

Miniature guide to critical thinking: concepts & tools /
Paul, Richard.
Dillon Beach, CA:Foundation for Critical Thinking,2001.
Learning and Teaching Center      Call Number: 370.152P324m 2001
Subject:  Critical Thinking   /   Learning Theory and Practice
 

The miniature guide to critical thinking for children :(to help you think better) /
Fairminded Fran.
Dillon Beach, CA :Foundation for Critical Thinking,2001.
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 153.42F172m 2001
Subject:  Critical Thinking

 

The miniature guide to taking charge of the human mind /
Elder, Linda.
Dillon Beach, CA:Foundation for Critical Thinking,c2002.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 153.42E37m 2002
Subject:  Critical Thinking   /   Learning Theory and Practice
 


The miniature guide to understanding the foundations of ethical reasoning /
Paul, Richard
Dillon Beach, CA :Foundation for Critical Thinking,c2003.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 170 P324m 2003
Subject:  Critical Thinking

 

A new culture of learning :cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change /
Thomas, Douglas,
[Lexington, Ky. :CreateSpace?],c2011.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 371.33T362n 2011
Subject:  Learning Theory and Practice

 

The outcomes primer :reconstructing the college curriculum /
Stiehl, Ruth E.
Corvallis, Or :Learning Organization,c2008.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.199S855o 2008
Subject:  Curriculum  /   Assessment
 

Outcomes assessment in higher education :views and perspectives /
Westport, Conn. :Libraries Unlimited,2004.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.167O94 2004
Subject:  Assessment

 

Practical magic :on the front lines of teaching excellence /
Roueche, John E.
Washington, DC :Community College Press,c2003.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125R711p 2003
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips 

 

A practical reader in universal design for learning /
Cambridge, MA :Harvard Education Press,c2006.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 371.394P895 2006
Subject:  Universal Design

 

Redesigning America's community colleges : a clearer path to student success /
Thomas R. Bailey, Shanna Smith Jaggars, Davis Jenkins.
Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard University Press, 2015
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.1543 B156r 2015
Subject:  General

 

Reflective teaching in higher education  
Ashwin, Paul
London : Bloomsbury Academic, 2015.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125 A831r 2015
Subject:   Reflective Teaching  

 

Service-learning essentials: questions, answers, and lessons learned
Jacoby, Barbara
San Francisco, California : Jossey-Bass, [2015]
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 361.37 J17s 2015
Subject:   Teaching Practices/Tips

 

Skill standards for professional-technical college instructors and customized trainers. /
Renton Technical College.
[Renton, Wa] : Renton Technical College, c2000.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 370.113 S628 2000
Subject:  Curriculum   /   Assessment

 

Student engagement techniques: a handbook for college faculty
Barkley, Elizabeth
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2010.
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 378.125 B256s 2010
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips

 

Successful beginnings for college teaching :engaging your students from the first day /
Provitera-McGlynn, Angela.
Madison, WI :Atwood Pub.,c2001.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:378.125P969s 2001
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips    /   Professional Development

 

Supporting men of color in the community college: a guidebook /
Wood, J. Luke.
San Diego : Lawndale Hill Publishing, 2017
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.1982 W976s 2017   
Subject:  Culturally Responsive Education
 

Systematic assessment of learning outcomes :developing multiple-choice exams /
McDonald, Mary,
Boston :Jones and Bartlett Publishers,c2002.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 371.261M135s 2002
Subject:  Assessment

 

Taking college teaching seriously
Mellow, Gail
Sterling, Virginia : Stylus Publishing, [2015]
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.125 M527t 2015
Subject:  Professional Development

 

Teaching alone, teaching together :transforming the structure of teams for teaching /
Bess, James L.
San Francisco :Jossey-Bass,c2000.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125B557t 2000
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  

 

Teaching and learning at a distance : foundations of distance education 
Michael Simonson
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Merrill Prentice Hall, c2006.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 371.35 T253 2006
Subject:  Teaching and Technology

 

Teaching at its best :a research-based resource for college instructors /
Nilson, Linda Burzotta.
San Francisco, CA :Jossey-Bass,c2010.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125N712t 2010
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips 
 

Teaching college: collected readings for the new instructor /
Weimer, Maryellen
Madison, Wis. :Atwood Pub.,c1998.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.12T253 1998
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  /   Professional Development

 

Teaching for our times: a journal of good teaching practice /
Cassara, Shirley.
Boston, Mass. : Bunker Hill Community College,c1999.
Learning and Teaching Center   Call Number: 378.125T253 1999
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  /   Professional Development
 

Teaching for our times: focus on learning  /
Cassara, Shirley.
Boston, Mass. : Bunker Hill Community College, 2000.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125T253 2000
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  /   Learning Theory and Practice


Teaching men of color in the community college: a guidebook /
Wood, J. Luke.
San Diego, California : Montezuma Publishing, 2015.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.1982 W876t 2015  
Subject:  Culturally Responsive Education

 

Teaching tips for college and university instructors :a practical guide /
Royse, David D.(David Daniel)
Boston : Allyn and Bacon,c2001.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number:378.12R888t 2001
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips

 

Teaching undergraduates /
Dominowski, Roger L.,
Mahwah, NJ :L. Erlbaum Associates,2002.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125D671t 2002
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips   /  Learning Theory and Practice

 

Thinking about teaching and learning :developing habits of learning with first year college and university students /
Leamnson, Robert N.
Sterling, Va. :Stylus Pub.,c1999.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.12L436t 1999
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  /  Learning Theory and Practice  /  Professional Development

 

Tools for teaching /
Davis, Barbara Gross.
San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass,c2009.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.125D261t 2009
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips  

 

Transforming students: fulfilling the promise of higher education
Johansson, Charity
Baltimore : John Hopkins University Press, 2014.
Learning and Teaching Center    Call Number: 370.1 J65t 2014
Subject:  Higher Education/Community Colleges

 

Universal design in higher education :from principles to practice /
Cambridge : Harvard Education Press,2008.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 371.9046U58 2008
Subject:  Universal Design
 

What the best college teachers do /
Bain, Ken.
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press,2004.
Learning and Teaching Center     Call Number: 378.12B162w 2004
Subject:  Teaching Practices/Tips   /  Professional Development

 

Writing instructional objectives for teaching and assessment /
Gronlund, Norman Edward,
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Merrill/Prentice Hall,c2004.
Learning and Teaching Center      Call Number:371.3028G876w 2004
Subject:  Assessment